Must Love Facebook: A Romance Between Smarphone & Social Media

This past weekend I decided it was time to upgrade my phone. While I have always been loyal to BlackBerry, in the recent months it has become clear that they are starting to lag behind. Don’t get me wrong, BBM is great, but when it became clear that this was the only reason I was staying tied to an otherwise limited device, I realized it was time for  a change.

Being a gadget person by nature I could not resist the chance to get the new Motorola Atrix. Sure a dual core processor and 1 gb of ram in a cell phone is totally unnecessary but, after all, knowing that I can beat the pants off of 80% of netbooks out there is an ego boost to say the least.

But in setting up the phone, something creepy happened. In configuring the moto blur interface  (which takes about 3 minutes), I ran into another example of big brother lurking within the machine. The question went something like this:

Q: Where would you like you contacts pictures to come from?

A: Facebook? Twitter?

That was it. No was not an option. I could not decide for myself that in fact I did not want pictures for my contacts. Nor could I decide that I wanted my phone book to remain separate and unlinked to my digital life. After all, I don’t have phone numbers for a striking majority of these people. Why couldn’t I opt for a less integrated experience. A life where mother moto knew less, rather than more, about who and what I did in my free time.

I may be old school in certain aspects but the idea that I must integrate my life with the digital world and have some higher power, i.e. the book, follow my every move scares me. And while I appreciate what social media has done for the world, its nice to be able to turn off the stream every now and then. To open your contact list and see no smiling faces, but just numbers, staring back at you.

About clevis1

Christian Levis is the creator of EchoFriendly, a location based chat application for the iOS. He is a graduate of NYU's College of Arts & Sciences and holds degrees in biology and English along with a professional certificate in marketing. He also a graduate of the Fordham University School of Law, and deeply concerned about privacy and the impact that social media has on intellectual property. Christian is also a jazz pianist. His favorite band is Steely Dan. His favorite book is too hard to choose. He enjoys seafood but not really lobster and drinks more coffee than is probably healthy for a normal human being. You can find him on Twitter @echomeback Or on Facebook as...Christian Levis
This entry was posted in Social Media, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

